Testimonials & Reviews

ReGen Pain Management

Jonathan Koning, MD

Pain Management Physician located in Plano, TX & Frisco, TX

4.82/5 Star Rating
94 total reviews

Dr. Jonathan Koning always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 94 reviews with an average rating of 4.82 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Jonathan Koning below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Judy T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/07/22
Much improved over last visit . . . I would say excellent . . . all was professional, calm, and organized. The rooms were well prepped; the nurses Cristy and Miranda were attentive and professional. Dr. Brian Flattery the anesthesiologist came to my cubicle and spent time giving me the lidocaine that I need to numb the site of the IV, and took great care in finding a vein that would work, without blowing out any as usually happens when I get IV's. He was very caring and personable. The young man who rolled me back to the procedure room, I didn't catch his name, was very nice. Tony who rolled me to my car in the wheel chair was nice as usual and he didn't speed this time. Overall I was very impressed with the vast improvement over last time. Thank you Thank you Thank you for making a difficult process easier.
Judy T.
3/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/25/22
Update: Now I do get rolled back to the procedure room, which is great . . . and Dr. Koening is a great Dr., but oh my goodness . . . he needs to get someone to manage his procedure prep room. I got back to the curtained off area and the bed wasn't ready, so I had to sit in a chair, until they could get the bed cleaned and sheeted . . . then the lady who was going to do my IV, had not gotten the message that I asked for lidocaine, which I was assured they would have in the area where they were going to do the IV. I had to keep insisting until she finally went and asked for the Dr. guy who was back there to administer the shot, well he said he had to get the sheet on another bed, and she angrily said she would do it for him so that he could go get the lidocaine. He got it and he proceeded to try to put the IV in but he couldn't find a good vein, so he decided to try it on my foot ( never had that done before). Then the first lady told him there was a good vein in my hand. So he proceeded to try to to get the IV into that spot, but couldn't, so he was going to give me another shot of lidocaine in my other hand, and I said maybe she can do it, so she came over, and began to work on the IV. My hand was hanging out in the air and she kept telling me to hold still. I told her that I needed something to rest my hand on in order keep it still, so she put it on her knee, all the time having an angry demeanor. The Dr. guy, who had made it very clear that he was a Dr. reciting all the board certifications that he had . . . was rapidly asking me questions, he said, so that I would be distracted from the IV proceedings, when in actuality he was just irritating me. . . anyhow I finally got to the procedure room, and all was professional and caring. Afterward when I got into the wheel chair to go to my vehicle, the young man was speeding down to the elevator and to the car. I said , wow you are speedy and, he said "yeah things have been crazy around there that morning." I was so exhausted from the ordeal before the proceedure that I was glad to get home and crash on my sofa.
Deborah E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/22/22
After years of struggling with back pain, I was referred to Dr. Koning. His staff and he are so personable, compassionate, professional, and kind. It is so nice to find a doctor who truly cares about his patients and if he doesn't recognize me each time I visit, he does a great job of hiding that! He in considerate of my time; when was the last time you had a doctor apologize for making you wait? He did that, not once when he came in but again when he was leaving. My back pain is under control without heavy medications and I could not be more appreciative of that. Highly recommend!!!
Beverly C.
2/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/14/22
I have been a patient of Dr. Koning's since he left the office of Dr. Benbow. He has helped me through the toughest times with my back injury and knee situation. After exhausting all attempts to get knee pain relief. I committed to Double Knee Replacement surgery with Dr. Christopher Miller. I had an appointment with Dr. Koning on May 2nd to discuss the outcome of my surgery. I was saddened that Dr. Koning did not see me instead I saw his PA. I genuinely thought Dr. Koning would be interested in discussing the outcome of my surgery. I sincerely thought that was something he would want to know about. To be perfectly honest I was very hurt by his lack of concern and found this reaction to the results of my surgery to be surprising. I felt as if I didn't matter. Nor was he interested in finding out about how I was doing. This did not seem to be like Dr. Koning to respond in this matter. When I saw him as I was leaving my visit with Dr. Alexis he was eating a meal. I have always been satisfied with the treatment I have received from Dr. Koning but this time I was very disappointed. I still have faith in him as my doctor but am hoping he will be there to see me at my next appointment himself.
Jeff G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/08/21
My name is Jeff Glidewell. I was the last patient of the only surgeon ever to be criminally charged for acts inside an operating room, Christopher Duntsch, Aka Dr Death. After years of pain pills and procedures that didn’t work I finally got an intrathecal pain pump last year. The doctor that put it in would never try to adjust it high enough to work or put strong enough medication in it. He refused pain pills to help through the adjustment process and said no doctor would do that. After several failed attempts to find another dr I found dr Koning last month. He has done more for me in 3 weeks than my old dr did in a year. Looking forward for years of pain relief with dr Koning who is open to try whatever works to help.
Linda D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/10/20
Every visit is great! I have been seeking care for almost three years at his office and out of all the doctors I see he is one of the only ones that is an advocate for my care! He listens, personal, patient, friendly, understanding and always smiles! I have suffered from chronic pain for 19 years and has been the only one that has given me HOPE for one more day of improvement and he makes me want to fight! Wait I don't want to forget all of the staff at this clinic who are the best! They listen to what I have to say always take my calls and respond back quickly.. Special thanks to the heart of the front office Taylor she super sweet and wonderful...even when I talk her ear off! I will continue to Dr. Koning until I get some kind of relief. Even though something didn't work that is ok! I know he has another thing up sleeve.... thanks for everything!
Michelle T.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/29/20
Dr. Koning and all the staff members simply made it easy, reliable clinic. They have welcome me with open arms even with my dog toby. Dr. Koning gave me the full easy of pain and listen to my needs. I never once felt awkward or uneasy. Thank you for the time and patient that you all always give me. God Bless!
Jenn K.
1/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/12/19
Dr. Koning and his staff are so friendly and every time I walk into the office they know who I am and greet me and Dr. Koning has the best bedside manner he truly cares for his patients and always wants the best for them he will do his best to get rid of your pain and I can honestly say he has gotten rid of my pain and I truly love and appreciate his staff and Dr. Koning also
Ramona J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/04/19
I was referred to ReGen by my primary care physician's office. I have never regretted submitting my pain management to Dr. Koning. I had a series of back procedures and each week the staff and Dr. Koning gave me hope of pain-free living at the conclusion of the treatments. Dr. Koning speaks with you about what he is planning for your care and is genuinely interested in your well-being. The staff is second to none. I tell everyone about ReGen and Dr. Koning. They are terrific...and I DO NOT HAVE THE BACK PAIN I HAD SUFFERED WITH FOR YEARS. That's been a blessing for me. And, I am still walking with pain-free knees.
Chrystal M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/29/19
My neurosurgeon referred me to Dr. Koning and I’m so grateful he did! Hi sweetie staff is awesome! Very attentive and professional. Can’t say enough good about this Dr. My first appointment he told me he would get me back my life and fast. He held up to his word. His office staff and him have worked very hard to get my surgery set quickly and with ease. I’ve seen a few pain management drs and none have been concerned about me and my well being. Just always wanted to push meds on me. Between Dr. Rob Dickerman and Dr. Koning I don’t feel helpless and actually feel I have a future ahead of me to enjoy life again! I’m only 40 and like he said I should be out enjoying life and he’s giving me that chance. Would recommend him to anyone that suffers from chronic pain. He’s definitely a God send to me and my family.
Lori C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/24/18
I would recommend Dr. Koning as a Pain Management specialist, he is understanding & really listens to his patients!
Leslie G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/01/18
I had car trouble and was unable to get to my appt. I was told I had to be there that day or wait 2 weeks for the next approval for meds to refill. I made it to the appt and ended up having to be towed back to the car repair shop after the appt was made. I was so grateful to be given the opportunity to get my meds! Thank you ReGen team!!!
Ollen O.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/25/18
Dr. Koning and staff are a pleasure to work with. Professionalism with a capital P.
Jennifer K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/21/18
I've had chronic pain for nine years. And, a patient of Dr. Koning's for over four years. My husband and I absolutely trust and love him so much, (I'm the patient, my hubby is usually my driver) we drive over an hour and a half to see Dr. Koning and his team for each appointment. Dr. Koning and the Regen Pain Management team are all PHENOMENAL!!! They are professional, friendly, caring, kind, patient and truly listen to ensure they give you the best treatment options and medical care. Dr. Koning doesn't just try to push you to do expensive procedures over and over again when you're not getting relief, nor does he push a bunch of prescriptions on you and send you on your way (Unfortunately, this had been my experience in the past with a handful of other pain mgmt. doctors). He takes time listen to your ailments, to explain your best options, how everthing works and allows you to decide what you want to try or continue. If he isn't the best man for the job (such as a procedure or surgery), he will recommend you only to the best doctors in their field. To say my husband and I highly recommend Regen Pain Management, would be an understatement! Whether you have a new injury or suffer with chronic pain, please give Regen Pain Management a try, you won't regret it.
Pamela R.
4/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/20/18
Dr Koning is wonderful.
Robert J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/15/18
Great Staff and Doctor highly appreciated
Francis L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/13/18
From top to bottom everyone in the office is nice and very professional. Dr. Koning is down to earth, compassionate, and actually listens to your problems. I'd recommend this practice to everyone
Kevin G.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/12/18
Awesome practice friendly staff and Dr is great
John W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/12/18
I always receive exceptional care and service. I would highly recommend dr. Konig and his staff!
Martina A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/11/18
I'm always skeptical when reading reviews on a providers site but I'll share my experience so far. I found Dr. Koning when looking for someone that would accept an "old" Work Comp case after hearing not accepting from over 100 others I wasn't too excited about the quality of care I'd receive from an office that would accept my assignment. I couldn't have been more wrong. Dr. Koning is one of the best physicians I've seen since my care began in 2001. He and his PA's are very knowledgable and easy to talk to. The staff has been very professional and will get back to you within the day. I understand that there could be a long wait to get your initial appointment but it is worth the wait. I am grateful to have a doctor that actually cares about the patients quality of life and is transparent when it comes to treatment plans and the varying results.

Accepted Insurance Providers

We accept plans from the following insurance providers. Please call the office to determine if your specific plan is accepted.

Aetna
Blue Cross Blue Shield - PPO Only
Cigna
First Health (Coventry Health Care)
Galaxy Healthcare PPO
HealthSmart ACCEL
HealthSmart PPO
Medicare
United Healthcare
Our Locations

Choose your preferred location